I voted for Mike Oquaye, if you doubt me let’s go to Antoa – NPP MP


Eugene Boakye Antwi, the Member of Parliament for Subin has dismissed claims that he did not vote for Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye, hence the NPP’s loss of the Speaker position.

Boakye Antwi, in an Okay FM interview monitored by GhanaWeb, said that his name is being bandied about as the ‘mole’ who connived with the NDC to cause the defeat of Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye.

He challenged anyone with such claims to come forth with evidence or face the ‘Antoa’ deity.

The Subin MP cautioned the persons behind the ‘false information’ to put and end it to else he will shelve his Catholic faith for Antoa and invoke curses on them.

“When I ticked my ballot paper, all the MPs at the right side saw it. I ticked my ballot before entering the booth. I don’t do politics with hate. The party said we should vote Mike Oquaye, I voted for Mike Oquaye. I’m an Ashanti so I will invoke Antoa”.

Those of you spreading this information should be careful. Someone will curse you one day. I’m not a kid for anyone to order me around. The party agreed that we were going to vote for Mike Oquaye and that was it. Anyone who saw it knows I voted for Mike Oquaye”, he said.

Boakye Antwi also criticized the leadership of the NPP MPs for falling for the tactics of the NDC.

He said that instead of being vigilant, the leadership allowed the NDC to dictate the pace of the game.

“All [that] members of the NPP know is lying to the President about people. All they are good at in the party is backbiting. While the elections were ongoing, you could see pure teamwork between the NDC leadership in Parliament and their party leadership.”

Bagbin didn’t win elections, leadership conferred it on him – Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu

Majority Leader of the 7th Parliament, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu in an interview with GhanaWeb brought to bear happenings that culminated in the former MP for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Bagbin, becoming the Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

Reports were rife that the candidate of the National Democratic Congress caucus beat his contender, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye with 138 votes resulting in him getting sworn in as the Speaker of Parliament from 2021 – 2025.

But outlining the details on the night of the dissolution of the 7th Parliament in an exclusive interview with GhanaWeb, the MP for Suame indicated that during the voting exercise to determine who was to be the leader of the House of Legislature, contrary to the reports, both candidates garnered 136 votes.

He further explained that two of the votes were unaccounted for, while one got rejected because both candidates had been tainted.

He noted that after the brouhaha surrounding the ballot sheets involving Member of Parliament for Tema West, Carlos Ahenkorah, he suggested to the leadership for a rerun of the polls to be carried out since it appeared two of the ballots could not be accounted for after they had been retrieved.

That suggestion was, however, shot down by the leadership on the other side of the divide since the House had spent over 8 hours and were short of time before the inauguration of the President-elect later in the day.


Please contact Apexnewsgh.com on email apexnewsgh@gmail.com for your credible news publications. Contact: 0555568093.

Ngamegbulam C. S

Leave a Reply